Georgia is a sovereign state in the Caucasus region of Europe. Situated at the juncture of Eastern Europe and Western Asia, it is bounded to the west by the Black Sea, to the north by Russia, to the south by Turkey and Armenia, and to the east by Azerbaijan. Georgia is divided into nine regions and two autonomous republics. These in turn are subdivided into 69 districts. The country’s largest city is Tbilisi. Notable tourist destinations in the capital of Tbilisi include Tbilisi Sameba Cathedral, Freedom Square, Sioni Cathedral, Metekhi, Narikala, Parliament of Georgia, Rustaveli Avenue, Tbilisi Opera and Ballet Theatre, Anchiskhati Basilica, Mtatsminda (Holy Mountain), Kashveti Church along with the National and Historic Museums of Georgia and numbers of art galleries. The Upper Svaneti fortifications, and the castle town of Shatili in Khevsureti, are good examples of medieval Georgian castle architecture. Other architectural aspects of Georgia include Rustaveli avenue in Tbilisi in the Hausmann style, and the Old Town District. Out of the city's historic landmarks, the most notable locations are the Narikala fortress, Anchiskhati Church, Sioni Cathedral, and Church of Metekhi.

Dining choices are plentiful in Tbsili. For a quick, casual meal Cafe Nikala offers salads, rice and meat dishes, khachapuri and cakes, all of which are available as self-service. For a French meal try 12 rue Charden with a primarily European menu and French wine. The Ankara is an air-conditioned Turkish restaurant, where salad and sweets as well as kebabs and other meaty dishes are all offered.

Tbilisi has one international airport. The Tbilisi Metro services the city with rapid transit subway services. It’s the fourth metro system in the former Soviet Union. Construction began in 1952, and was finished in 1966. The system operates two lines, the Akhmeteli-Varketili Line and the Saburtalo Line. It has 22 stations and 186 metro cars. Most stations, like other post-Soviet metro stations, are vividly decorated. Trains run from 6am to 1am. 

The climate of Georgia is extremely diverse. There are two main climatic zones, roughly separating Eastern and Western parts of the country. The Greater Caucasus Mountain Range plays an important role in moderating Georgia's climate and protects the nation from the penetration of colder air masses from the north. The Lesser Caucasus Mountains partially protect the region from the influence of dry and hot air masses from the south as well.

The wettest periods generally occur during Spring and Autumn while Winter and the Summer months tend to be the driest. Much of eastern Georgia experiences hot summers (especially in the low-lying areas) and relatively cold winters. As in the western parts of the nation, elevation plays an important role in eastern Georgia.